Introducing the seven chakra’s

Introducing the seven chakras

The Seven Chakras

To those of us more spiritually inclined, balancing the seven chakras can be an integral part of our spiritual development. But many people don’t even know what they are! Today I will be walking us through each of the 7 chakras and explaining what they are and how they impact us.

DISCLAIMER; This topic is purely spiritual and opinion based

Chakras are thought to be energy centers located through each body that impact different aspects of one’s life. Each chakra impacts the others, creating a system of energies which are constantly interacting throughout a body. It’s thought that when these energies are balanced one feels harmony between their internal and external worlds. On the flip side when these energies are unbalanced one may feel exhausted, hyperemotional, ungrounded and other negative feelings. This can be caused by having certain chakras be overactive or blocked. The chakras start from the base of one’s spine (Root chakra) and extend to the top of one’s head (Crown chakra). And once someone has a basic understanding of these energy centers they can begin to realign and open them in order to have a more fulfilling and balanced life.


The Root Chakra

If you’re on your way to balancing your chakras it’s very important to start at the Root chakra, also known as Muladhara. Think of this chakra as the basis to all of your other emotions. If you are not healthy in these aspects it is nearly impossible to be healthy in other aspects of your life. This chakra’s focus is on our most basic needs. Feeling cared for, safe, secure, grounded, and present. It is located at the base of your spine and is associated with the element earth which symbolises grounding, presence,and security.

Location: Base of the spine

Color: Red

Mantra: LAM

Element: Earth

Chakra Mantra: “I am always safe at the center of my being.”


Solar Plexus Chakra

Next up is the Solar Plexus chakra or Svadhisthana. This chakra is located right below your navel and is the center for creative and sexual energy. This chakra is associated with the element water meaning it’s associated with fluidity, change, and versatility. When balanced we feel confident, creative, and intuitive. In order to heal this chakra it is important to affirm to yourself that you are creative, passionate, beautiful, and flexible. 

Location: Above the pubic bone and below the navel

Color: Orange

Mantra: VAM

Element: Water

Chakra Mantra: “I flow with the rhythms of life.”


Sacral Chakra

The Sacral chakra or Manipura is closely connected with the Solar Plexus chakra. When balanced it encourages self expression, creativity, drive, passion, personal power, and self esteem. This chakra encompases what makes you an individual and what only you can bring to the world. It is associated with the element fire which symbolizes drive, passion and growth.

Location: The navel area, from the solar plexus up to the breastbone

Color: Yellow

Mantra: RAM

Element: Fire

Chakra Mantra: “I stand in my personal power.”


Heart chakra

The Heart chakra or Anahata chakra is located at the center of one’s chest. This chakra represents the transition from the lower more basic chakras, which have to do with our earthly experience, to a more spiritual plane of thinking involved with the upper three chakras. Before tuning up any of these latter energy centers one should have a good understanding and well balanced Root, Sacral, and Solar Plexus chakra. After working on these three chakras the heart chakra oftentimes begins to rebalance and open up on its own. The Heart chakra is the center which represents empathy, love, excitement, forgiveness, and acceptance. With a balanced heart chakra one feels an abundance of love for the world around them and themselves.

Location: Center of the chest (including the heart, lungs, and entire surrounding area)

Color: Green

Mantra: YUM

Element: Air

Chakra Mantra: “I open my heart to fully living.”


Throat Chakra

Being the 5th chakra the Throat chakra or Vishuddha is the first of the 3 spiritual chakras. This chakra is all about self expression and having the confidence and humility to communicate effectively. When in balance one may feel able to express their emotions clearly, listen well to others, self reflect, and appear authentic. When out of alignment it may seem like one’s feelings do not match up with their actions which can be very frustrating.

Location: The throat

Color: Blue

Mantra: HUM

Element: Space

Chakra Mantra: “I follow and speak my truth.”


Third Eye Chakra

The Third Eye chakra or Anja encompasses all things intuitive and how we perceive the outside world as well as ourselves. It is represented by all elements in turn often being associated with light. This chakra is meant to aid us in shedding light or seeing things we could typically not perceive with our eyes. When balanced one has strong intuition, self reliance, and the ability to trust their own reality.

Location: The space between the eyebrows

Color: Indigo

Mantra: SHAM

Element: All/ light

Chakra Mantra: “I follow the path of truth and intuition.”


Crown Chakra

The Crown chakra or Sahasrara affects our spiritual being and is the most spiritual chakra. The idea that comes along with balancing this chakra is that each person is part of a larger divine entity that we are all connected to. In my opinion this chakra is the most difficult to work on as it deals mostly with concepts that cannot be perfectly explained or even make a mild amount of sense. It’s about developing spirituality and a sense that your part of a much larger picture outside of your own ego.


Location: Outside the body and hovering above the crown of the head

Color: Violet or White

Mantra: OM

Element: Cosmic Energy

Chakra Mantra: “There is only divine oneness.”


“The chakra system originated in India between 1500 and 500 BC in the oldest text called the Vedas. Evidence of chakras, spelled cakra, is also found in the Shri Jabala Darshana Upanishad, the Cudamini Upanishad, the Yoga-Shikka Upanishad and the Shandilya Upanishad. According to the scholar Anodea Judith in her book the Wheels of Life, knowledge of the chakra system was passed down through an oral tradition by the Indo-Eurpoean people, also called the Aryan people. The Chakra system was traditionally an Eastern philosophy until New Age authors, like Anodea Judith, resonated with the idea and wrote about the chakras, expanding upon the older texts and making the knowledge more accessible.”  from