Academic Honors


Multiple Academic Magnet students were recognized by College Board. Fourteen students were honored as part of College Board’s National African American, National Hispanic, and National Indigenous Recognition Programs.

The following students received certificates last week:

2021 College Board National African American Recognition Program Scholars

Hallie Cole

Kinsey Hallaba

Que’ Lani Kynard

Devar Ravenell

LaPortia Scott

Kyla Towles


2021 College Board National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars

Pedro Araujo

Inés Carrillo

Hana Hiraoka

Gracie Mochizuki

Lucas Reed

Randall Reed

2021 College Board National Indigenous Recognition Program Scholars

Courtney Hall

Mia Matthews

“We are extremely proud, but not surprised, that the College Board selected these Academic Magnet High School students for the prestigious National Recognition programs,” said Principal Jacob Perlmutter. “Our faculty work hard to build a place where all students can chase their dreams and realize their lofty goals.”


These National Recognition Programs grant underrepresented students with academic honors that can be included on college and scholarship applications and connect students with universities across the country. Colleges and scholarship programs identify students through the College Board’s Student Search Service.

“I believe that [Academic] Magnet has greatly prepared me for college because the workload is definitely intense,” explained senior Mia Matthews. “The amount of work and the emphasis to create good work has made me ready for the rea lworld and helped me with life skills that I need to improve on before college, like time management.”


Students who may be eligible have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and have excelled on the PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10, or earned a score of 3 or higher on two or more AP Exams; and are African American or Black, Hispanic American or Latinx, Indigenous, and/or attend school in a rural area or small town.

“Being able to take AP and other rigorous courses put an emphasis on my work ethic and  time management,” added senior LaPortia Scott. “This has made me a stronger student and I feel that college work will resemble what I have already learned and experienced at AMHS.”


Eligible students are invited to apply during their sophomore or junior year, and those selected are recognized at the beginning of the next school year.



The National Merit Scholarship Program is one of the most prestigious national academic honors for High School students based on Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The nationwide pool of semifinalists includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state and represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors.


Seniors who are  Semifinalists for the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program are:

Mary Compton

Brett Cox

Kevin Fan

Louissa Grubb

Callaghan Monnier

Kaylin Morris

Claudia Rose Perkis

Randall Reed

Leddy Scheurer

Shay Seim

Anna Leigh Tangeman

Asher Wallen

David Wang

Huiwen Wang

Piper Wood